ROAD DEPARTMENT

RESIDENTIAL DRIVEWAY ACCESS PERMITS

Driveway Access Permit Requirement

Driveway access permits are required by Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS 374) and Deschutes
County Code (DCC 12.28.050) whenever a driveway connects a public road under Deschutes
County jurisdiction to private property. These permits help ensure:

Safety for Roadway and Driveway Users:
o Adequate intersection and stopping sight distance.

e Appropriate spacing between intersections and other driveways.
o Acceptable vehicle turning angles.
e No interference with roadway signs, guardrails, or other safety devices.

Compliance with State and Federal Laws:
e Prevention of interference with roadway drainage facilities.

e Avoidance of impacts to known wetlands, waterways, or protected areas.

¢ Compliance with applicable land use regulations.

Application Review Process

Submission:
Applications are submitted to the Deschutes County Community Development Department (CDD).

Initial Review:
CDD staff reviews the application for completeness and compliance with land use and
environmental requirements.

Road Department Review:
The Deschutes County Road Department reviews applications in the order they are received and
conducts site inspections to verify:

o Adequate sight distance, spacing, and approach angle requirements.
e No interference with safety devices or drainage facilities.
e Adherence to Deschutes County construction requirements provided in the permit.

Records Filing:
Permit records are kept with the property’s land use and permit record at the CDD.
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Sight Distance Requirements

Sight distance is the length of road a driver needs to see clearly to avoid a collision with an object or
other road user. Driveway approaches in Deschutes County must comply with two different sight
distance measurements: intersection sight distance and stopping sight distance.

Intersection Sight Distance

e The minimum clear line of sight between a driver entering a highway and approaching
vehicles from both directions.

e Intended to allow a driver to enter the road safely while allowing traffic on the road to
maintain normal travel speed.

o Measured from a driver’s eye height (3.5 feet), seated 15 feet back from the fog line or edge
of the roadway, to an object on the highway that is 3.5 feet high.

Stopping Sight Distance

e Thedistance required for a driver to detect a stationary object in their path, recognize the
need to stop, and bring their vehicle to a safe, controlled stop before a collision occurs.

¢ Intended to allow a driver to exit the road safely while allowing other road users sufficient
time to react and execute a stop if necessary.

e Measured from a driver’s eye height (3.5 feet) to the approximate height of an average
vehicle bumper (2.0 feet) in the driver’s lane.

Driveway Approach Spacing

While there is no specific access spacing standard for residential driveways, driveways must be
located along a parcel’s frontage to maximize spacing from other driveways and intersecting roads.

No driveway shall be permitted within 50 feet of a road apron, measured from the outermost edges
of the approaches along the roadway’s edge being accessed.

Existing Driveway Accesses

Driveway access permits have been required by Oregon law since 1955. However, many
unpermitted driveways were built afterward, causing property owners to unknowingly inherit
unpermitted access points.

Only driveways in place prior to 1955 in continuous use can be considered “grandfathered”, any
driveway installed after this date without a permit is considered an unpermitted approach and has
no presumption of written permission.

Unpermitted driveways pose liability risks to property owners and potential safety hazards. All
property owners accessing a public road under Deschutes County jurisdiction are encouraged to
obtain a driveway access permit, however a driveway access permit must be obtained before the
issuance of building permits for new dwellings, replacement dwellings, or accessory structures.
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Secondary Driveways

Secondary driveway access is permitted if:
e The property has 50 feet or more of frontage on aroad.

e The secondary driveway meets all other applicable requirements in the Deschutes County
Code.

No more than two driveway approaches are allowed for any parcel in Deschutes County.

Permit Rights Granted

A driveway access permit only grants permission to cross the county right-of-way line at a specified
location. It does not grant permission to access or cross adjacent private property.
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